Back to events

Pavel Kolesnikov | Goldberg Variations

16th November 2021

20:00 - View all performance times

Turner Sims Concert Hall , Southampton University University Road

Bach Goldberg Variations, BWV 988

Published in 1741 the Goldberg Variations is one of the iconic works of classical keyboard music. Through a simple opening and thirty variations, Bach explores multiple ways of improvising on a musical theme, taking the listener on an endlessly fascinating and rewarding journey. Fresh from the release of his acclaimed Hyperion Records account of the work, which The Guardian described as ‘revelatory’, pianist Pavel Kolesnikov brings his unique interpretation of Bach’s masterpiece to Turner Sims.

'Just when you think there are enough recordings of Bach’s Goldberg Variations, here comes one that makes the music sound fresh off the page… Kolesnikov’s Goldbergs are softly spoken, but they are also extraordinarily eloquent.' The Guardian

Event Dates

Dates Tickets Links
16 Nov 2021 - 20:00 Standard - Min: £24.00 | Students - Min: £23.00 | Students - Min: £12.00 | Members - Min: £21.60 Book Tickets

Subscribe to our newsletter for updates on all things Southampton!

Submitting your information...

Submitting your information...

Thank you! You will receive an email to confirm your subscription.

Back to top