Back to events

Elias Quartet

11th October 2022

20:00 - View all performance times

Turner Sims Concert Hall , Southampton University University Road

Sara Bitlloch violin
Donald Grant violin
Simone van der Giessen viola
Marie Bitlloch cello

Haydn Quartet in F sharp minor, Op 50 No 4
Florence Price Quartet No 2 in A minor
Beethoven Quartet No 8 in E minor, Op 59 No 2 Rasumovsky

On 15 June 1933, the Chicago Symphony Orchestra performed a new piece by an unknown composer. The work had won first prize in a competition. The Chicago Daily News declared it ‘a faultless work, a work that speaks its own message with restraint and yet with passion… worthy of a place in the regular symphonic repertoire.’
The unknown composer was Florence Price. She was the first African American woman to have her music performed by a major symphony orchestra. Join us tonight as the Elias Quartet perform her Quartet No 2 as part of their programme.

The Elias Quartet begin with Haydn’s rarely heard quartet, one of a set of six written for the King of Prussia. The evening closes with Beethoven’s popular quartet, one of the set of three dedicated to Count Rasumovsky.

Event Dates

Dates Tickets Links
11 Oct 2022 - 20:00 Standard - Min: £25.00 Book Tickets

Subscribe to our newsletter for updates on all things Southampton!

Submitting your information...

Submitting your information...

Thank you! You will receive an email to confirm your subscription.

Back to top